TETFund Bullshit

I have been to over 30 Universities (maybe higher institutions) in Nigeria, amongst which are Ekiti State University (my first in 2004), Federal University of Technology Akure, University of Nigeria, Nsukka, Enugu State University, Abia State University, Imo State University, Federal University of Technology, Owerri, Tai Solarin University of Education, University of Ibadan, University of Abuja, University of Lagos, Lagos State University, Delta State University, Federal Polytechnic, Ado-Ekiti, College of Education Ikere, Adeyemi College of Education, Ondo, etc., aside Health Technology Colleges and Nursing Schools just to mention a few.

Let me tell you what I feel! The Older the better – in terms of Infrastructures (buildings). You might want to take a trip to prove me wrong…OAU, UI, UNILAG, UNILORIN, Etc. have better buildings than the new new-generation Universities and one can’t but wonder whatever went wrong with 21st Century architectural advancement we see allover the world.

download

Michael Okpara Uni. 2014 TETFund Project

I particularly work in a University environment and each morning I step in for work, i feel something is wrong with the workspace, couldn’t just figure it until last month when I visited my secondary school about a month ago! You know what? My secondary school was more beautiful, had more halls, classroom space and sporting facilities than my University-workplace, no thanks to the rubbish dilapidating 5-years-Tetfund-branded Projects. I know it a new University, it will ‘grow’ but OAU was ‘new’ too and it is now old and their start-up buildings are master-pieces.

oau

a 197x OAU Faculty Building

(1) Please someone should tell TETFund to dignify Academic with more beautiful building that justifies the stupendous budget they earmark for the building we see! (2) Let TETFund/University Administrators insist on master piece building that can stand the test of time. (3) I feel there is a correlation between great infrastructure and ‘scholar-tic dignity’ , a google search will justify this!

Am sure TETFund sympathetics will be fast to say it’s (TETFund) not just about building buildings. Its true on Scholarships! I give it to TETFund, Well-done. I work as a University Administrator and I see the good work it is doing to train Academic staff (at home and abroad) but wonder what why non-academics are discriminated in the training quota.

Most TETFund Building are Bullshit! Do you think this is true?

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Middlestar on March 9, 2016 - 1:06 PM

    Your observation so far is true but I’ll only consent when you truly visit all the Federal Universities in Nigeria…

    Like

    • #2 by OLUWATADE Timilehin CoachFaith on March 9, 2016 - 1:13 PM

      When ‘I’ visit? Visit and get back to me I have done my accidental trip around and drawn my conclusion… and I believe TETFund can do more.

      Like

Leave a Reply

